Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University
Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences News

College Names Keith Campbell to New Diabetes Professorship

A new endowed professorship for a diabetes educator in the College of Pharmacy at Washington State University will be held first by the professor for whom it is named.

Professor R. Keith Campbell has been appointed to the newly created “R. Keith Campbell Endowed Professorship in Diabetes Care,” effective Feb. 1, 2008.

The College raised from donors far more than the minimum required to establish an endowed professorship and wanted to put the money to work now, while continuing toward a $1 million goal, said College Dean James P. Kehrer.

“This endowment has the continuing goal of becoming the College’s first endowed chair, but has … » More …

College Acquires High-Tech Manikin

The College of Pharmacy purchased a high tech manikin in July 2007 from Laerdal®. The Human Patient Simulator can be programmed to have a number of different diseases or conditions.

The College is one of a handful of pharmacy schools in the country to begin using this Human Patient Simulation technology. The technology is more common in medical and nursing schools.

The WSU Colleges of Pharmacy and Nursing are working with community health care providers in Spokane to raise money for a patient simulation training facility where health sciences students can learn and working professionals can upgrade skills needed for certification. See more pictures.

Pharmacy Students in NCPA Business Plan Contest Finals

For the third time in four years, a team of WSU pharmacy students has advanced to the finals in a national business plan competition.

Team members Jacqueline Eide, Iris Kim, David White and Drew Yancey – all from the class of 2009 – will be competing in October 2007 against teams from the University of Washington and the University of Buffalo for the championship title of the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) business plan competition.

All three teams will give live presentations at the NCPA annual convention in Anaheim, Calif., Oct. 13-17.

The three finalists were selected from a field of 32 and were announced … » More …

Student Awards for 2006-07

June 2006:
WSPA selected Cris Duvall ’07 “Pharmacy Student of the Year”

WSPA awards Majid Tanas ’07 “Best Student Poster”

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) in Atlanta chose HPA student Ashley Tuomi for nationally competitive summer internship

August 2006:
The 2005 Wyeth-AFPE Gateway to Research Scholarship awarded to Alina Chahal ‘07

The 2005 Rho Chi-Schering Plough-AFPE First-Year Graduate School Scholarship was awarded to Joshua Neumiller

October 2006:
Four students won the National Community Pharmacists Association NCPA) annual business plan competition. Jason Doss, Daniela Beilic, Joshua Fancher and Corinne Gavrun, all from the class of 2009. Thirty teams competed.

December 2006:» More …

Garrelts-MacLean New Department Chair

Linda Garrelts-MacLean has been appointed to a four-year term as chair of the Department of Pharmacotherapy, effective July 1, 2007. She has been serving as interim chair for the past year.

Garrelts-MacLean is a 1978 WSU pharmacy graduate who owned Jones Pharmacy in Spokane for many years until she sold it a few years ago. She has received national attention for her contributions to the profession. Her recognition includes the 1997 selection by Pharmacy Times national magazine as the “Most Influential Woman Pharmacist of the Year; the 1999 selection by American Druggist magazine as one of the nation’s “Top 50 Most Influential Pharmacists”; and the … » More …

2006-07 Teachers of the Year

Catherine A. Elstad and Jonathan Reynolds were selected by Pharm.D. students as Teachers of the Year for 2006-07.

Elstad has been teaching at the College for 19 years and this is the 9th time she has been selected teacher of the year. In addition to her faculty position in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Elstad also serves as Associate Dean of Student Services.

Reynolds just finished his third year of teaching. He is a WSU alum who received his Pharm.D. in 1998. He joined the Department of Pharmacotherapy in September 2004. This is the first time he has received the teacher of the year award.

Pharmacy Students Receive National Recognition

Several pharmacy students earned national recognition in spring semester 2007:

Cris Duvall, class of 2007, was selected in January by the APhA’s Student Pharmacist magazine as a One to One Counseling Recognition Program Honoree. She was chosen because of her superior communication skills that resulted in improved outcomes for patients.

Duvall received airfare to Atlanta for the 2007 APhA Annual Meeting in March, plus three nights of hotel accommodations and complimentary registration for the meeting. This recognition program is endowed by a grant from Johnson & Johnson–Merck Consumer Pharmaceuticals.

Majid Tanas, class of 2007, was one of 12 students nationally to receive a 2006-2007 ASHP … » More …

Centralia Pharmacist is Preceptor of Year

Warren Hall, owner of Hall’s Medical Center Pharmacy in Centralia, Wash., has been selected by the College of Pharmacy as the 2007 Roche Preceptor of the Year for his outstanding work with the fourth-year students who do rotations at his pharmacy each year. He is one of about 400 active preceptors.

Hall tailors each student’s learning experience by first getting to know them. He asks questions about their past experiences and current expectations, and he then constructs a unique experience for each student.

Hall is the president-elect of the Washington State Pharmacy Association (WSPA) and an active leader in his community. He expects students to … » More …

Evening Raises Money for Students

An autographed basketball, signed by the members of the winning Cougar basketball team, sold for $2,700 at a live auction held as part of the Evening of Excellence on March 30, 2007

The upscale dinner to honor President’s Associates donors, scholarship donors and to showcase College excellence, drew 128 for dinner to the Red Lion Templin’s in Post Falls, Idaho.

The live auction, silent auction and wine raffle raised a total of $6,049 for student groups.

In addition to the two awards for Outstanding Alumni, the College recognized two people who have established endowments – faculty member Danial Baker, who established the endowment in the … » More …

Diabetes Outreach Gets Award

WSU’s Professional Pharmacy Student Organization (PPSO) won the Region 7 award at the APhA meeting for Operation Diabetes.Co-chairs of the outreach were Marsha Goodman and Adrienne Tveit.

PPSO conducted 29 diabetes screening events and screened 779 patients (234 patients last year), educated 879 patients plus 200,000 television viewers who saw them on Q6 in Spokane (only 234 educated last year).

Of the screenings, 54 patients were referred to a physician, 101 students participated (compared to 98 students last year), and 20 faculty and staff participated (last year 9 participated). PPSO was represented by 22 students at the APhA meeting in Atlanta in March 2007.