Alumni & Friends

Finding love in the pharmacy

For Hung Truong (’00) and Megan McIntyre, a Montana pharmacy graduate from 2004, meeting at a Bartell Drug store was all it took for a future to unfold. They met when Megan was on a Pharmacy Administration rotation with Bartell Drugs in the summer of 2003 and Hung worked at Bartell’s Coal Creek location. If Hung was telling the story he would say that she was his intern. According to Megan, she was technically licensed as an intern but met Hung when she was training him on her rotation project to establish new point of care services throughout Bartell Drugs (of course, Megan tells the correct version). And the rest is history.

Cooking and humor brought pharmacy couple together

Russell Heaton (’00) remembers seeing his future wife, Kristi (’00), in 1995, while they were both students in a chemistry class at Eastern Washington University. He immediately thought she was beautiful, so he approached her and asked a question about the lab. Russ says she was not impressed by him, at all, and Kristi doesn’t even remember this encounter. But a year later, when they were both at WSU, they met again and started to hang around with mutual friends.

Arby and Cathaline Baker Scholarship

The Arby and Cathaline Baker Scholarship in Pharmacy was established by their son, Danial Baker ’78, who credits them with giving him a strong work ethic and drive. Dr. Baker […]

David E. Bell Scholarship

The David E. Bell Scholarship in Pharmacy was started in 2007 by David E. Bell of Lacey, Washington, a 1976 pharmacy graduate who has spent most of his career in […]