November 2022 Updates



Pharmacotherapy Vice Chair & Allen I. White Distinguished Professor Joshua J. Neumiller and eight co-authors published, “Diabetes management in chronic kidney disease: a consensus report by the American Diabetes Association (ADA) and Kidney Disease: Improving Global Outcomes (KDIGO)” in Diabetes Care in October 2022.

Director for the Center for Pharmacy Practice Research and Associate Professor of Pharmacotherapy Kimberly McKeirnan and five co-authors published, Cultures of support and resilience are associated with certified pharmacy technicians embracing new roles,” in Research in Social and Administrative Pharmacy in October 2022.

Josh Neumiller and eight co-authors published, “Incidence of chronic kidney disease among adults with diabetes, 2015-2020,”in the New England Journal of Medicine in October 2022.

Pharmacotherapy Assistant Professor Lexie Powell published, “Getting rid of leftovers,” in the Inlander Health and Home in October 2022.

Josh Neumiller and two co-authors published the continuing education course, “Updates in glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonist use for patients with type 2 diabetes to maximize glycemic and non-glycemic outcomes: Part 1,” through PowerPak CE in October 2022.

Pharmaceutical Sciences Assistant Professor Ayesha Ahmed and two co-authors published, “Therapeutic role of nitroglycerin against copper-nitrilotriacetate induced hepatic and renal damage,” in Human & Experimental Toxicology, a peer-reviewed scientific journal, in October 2022.

Postdoctoral Research Associate Jingrui Chen, Pharmaceutical Sciences Adjunct Professor Clark Kogan, Pharmaceutical Sciences Associate Professor Zhaokang Cheng and two co-authors published, “Loss of Rbl2 (retinoblastoma-like 2) exacerbates myocardial ischemia/reperfusion injury,” in Journal of the American Heart Association, an authoritative, peer-reviewed Open Access journal focusing on cardiovascular and cerebrovascular disease, and an official journal of the American Heart Association.


Josh Neumiller served as faculty for the American Society of Nephrology (ASN) Diabetic Kidney Disease Collaborative (DKD-C) course titled, “Management of chronic kidney disease in people with diabetes.” Josh served as the primary faculty member of the section titled “Antihyperglycemic Agents,” and as the secondary faculty member for the module titled: “Proteinuria and RAS Inhibition.”

Pharmacotherapy Chair and R. Keith Campbell Distinguished Professor in Diabetes Care John R. White, Jr. presented, “What’s new in 22?” at the Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine 2022 Diabetes Update, High Impact Management for Clinicians on November 6, 2022.

United States Transuranium and Uranium Registries (USTUR) Director and Professor Sergei Tolmachev gave an invited talk,Actinides in humans: 50-year experience,” at the U.S. Transuranium and Uranium Registries 68th Annual Meeting of the Radiation Research Society in Waikoloa, Hawaii October 16 – 19, 2022.

Sergei Tolmachev presented two posters at the Annual Meeting of the Radiation Research Society in October 2022:

  • “EasySkel: Estimation of plutonium concentration in the skeleton,” by USTUR Postdoctoral Research Associate Martin Šefl, USTUR Assistant Professor Maia Avtandilashvili, Sergei Tolmachev and one co-author.
  • “Comparison of latent bone modeling and simple average method for estimating plutonium activity concentration in human skeleton,” by USTUR Assistant Professor George Tabatadze, Martin Šefl, Maia Avtandilashvili, Sergei Tolmachev and one co-author.


Two members of the USTUR –Maia Avtandilashvili and Adjunct Professor Daniel Strom were selected to serve on EPA advisory board to review report on cancer risk coefficients.

Associate in Research Stacey McComish wrote a short news article for USTUR website: USTUR faculty selected to serve on advisory board to review draft EPA report on cancer risk coefficients

Maia Avtandilashvili, and Daniel Strom, have been selected to serve on the science advisory board that will conduct a peer review of the Environmental Protection Agency’s draft document Federal Guidance Report No. 16. FGR 16 “Cancer Risk Coefficients for Environmental Exposure to Radionuclides” is an update to FGR 13, which was published in 1999.

USTUR welcomed Associate in Research Xirui Liu. Xirui Liu’s primary responsibilities include but are not limited to evaluating effects of death certificate misclassification on epidemiological studies. The tasks include using simulation approach to evaluate impact of death certificate misclassification on the risk estimates taking account of over- and under-classification rates, prevalence/incidence of health outcome, strength of association between exposure and health outcome, study population size etc. The data from the USTUR will be used as a “real world” example to validate the simulation study. Statistical analysis support for USTUR may be assigned as needed.


Kim McKeirnan was selected by the Washington State University Office of Research as the Technology with Impactful Contribution to Society Award for 2022 in recognition of her research and commercialization activities on a novel training program dedicated to increasing access to vaccination. McKeirnan was recognized during the virtual Research Week Awards Ceremony on Friday, October 21, 2022.


Pharmaceutical Sciences and Molecular Medicine students

Deepak Ahire (Prasad lab) received the best presentation award (second place) at the International Society of Study of Xenobiotics (ISSX) meeting held in Seattle, September 11-14, 2022. The meeting focuses on different aspects of drug discovery and development including drug metabolism and pharmacokinetics. Deepak presented his part of the PhD thesis work on a novel approach to quantifying the absolute composition of homologous proteins. The data generated in this study will allow better prediction of drug metabolism and drug-drug interactions in humans. This work was recently accepted for publication in the Drug Metabolism and Disposition journal.

At the 2022 Annual Meeting of the Pacific Northwest Association of Toxicologists (PANWAT) Regional Chapter held on the WSU, Health Sciences campus there were four WSU pharmaceutical sciences and molecular medicine student award recipients:

  • Rakshit Tanna won first place in the graduate student platform presentation for the presentation titled, “Clinical assessment of the drug interaction potential of the psychotropic natural product kratom.”
  • Victoria Oyanna won second place in the graduate student platform presentation for the presentation titled, “Green tea-raloxifene pharmacokinetic interaction: decrease in solubility and systemic exposure.”
  • Michael “Ridge” Call won first place in the graduate student poster presentation for the presentation titled, “Silymarin reduced microcystin-LR-elicited hepatoxicity.”
  • Namrata Bachhav won second place in the graduate student poster presentation, for the presentation titled, “Cell type specific effects of MCLR: hepatocytes and stellate cells in co-culture system.”