June 2023 Updates

The Faculty and Student Scholarship section is provided as a service to the WSU College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences community for sharing publications, presentations, and other highly transactional types of information. Accuracy of the information presented is the responsibility of those who submitted it. Submissions are reviewed for compliance with state statutes and ethics guidelines but are not edited for spelling, grammar, or clarity.



Josh Neumiller was quoted in a recent article published by the American Society of Nephrology: Kuehn BM. Team-based care is essential for diabetic kidney disease. ASN KidneyNews. 2023;15(4):1-10. Available at: https://www.kidneynews.org/view/journals/kidney-news/15/4/article-p1_2.xml?tab_body=pdf

Deepak Ahire, PhD., Prasad lab and Pharmaceutical Sciences Associate Professor Bhagwat Prasad and one co-author published an article, ”Intestinal Metabolism of Diclofenac by Polymorphic UGT2B17 Correlates with its Highly Variable Pharmacokinetics and Safety across Populations”, in Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics journal. https://ascpt.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1002/cpt.2907

Jenna Ghanaim (’24) and faculty Julie Akers (’00) poster titled “Preventing Medication Errors with Barcode Scanning: A Systematic Review,won first place in the Student Poster category on June 2 at the Northwest Pharmacy Convention held at the Coeur d’Alene Resort.


Josh Neumiller and one co-presenter presented “New and Emerging Therapies for the Treatment of Non-alcoholic Steatohepatitis: The Role of the Pharmacists in Early Identification and Clinical Intervention,” at Asembia’s 2023 Specialty Pharmacy Summit in Las Vegas, NV on May 3, 2023.

Several College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences faculty members and alumni presented at the Northwest Pharmacy Convention in Coeur d’Alene Idaho June 2-3:

  • Friday June 2
    • Medications and Management of Chronic Heart Failure in Older Adults, Jeffrey Clark (’09 PharmD), BCGP
    • Updates in Antimicrobial Stewardship, alumna Jessica Zering, PharmD, BCIDP, BCPS, CAPM (alum)
    • Psychological Flexibility, Jennifer Robinson (’05 PharmD)
    • Challenges with Hypertension Goals in Older Adults, Brian Gates (’99 PharmD), BCGP (faculty and alum)
    • Proactive Strategies to Reduce Risk for Adults Prescribed Opioids, Marian Wilson, PhD, MPH, RN, PMGT-BC and faculty member Jennifer Miller (’15 PharmD )
  • Saturday June 3
    • Federal Law Updates, alumna Brandy Seignemartin (’20 PharmD )


Pharmaceutical Sciences and Molecular Medicine students

Sheena Sharma (2023 PhD, Prasad lab) was awarded the 2023 Association for Faculty Women’s Harriet B. Rigas Award for being an outstanding doctoral student.

Ashley Larkin, (undergraduate research technician, Denton lab) presented a poster titled, “Protocols for the rapid separation of nuclear, mitochondrial and cytosolic fractions of C57BL/6J mouse brain and subsequent Western blot determination of concentrations of apoptosis-inducing factor (AIF) and mitochondrial and cytosolic concentrations of hexokinase,” at the Spokane Intercollegiate Research Conference (SIRC), Gonzaga University, April 29, 2023.

From Left : Chancellor Daryll Dewald, Dr. Julie Akers, Ms. Pravita Balijepalli, Dr. Kathryn Meier

Pravita Balijepalli (graduate student, Meier lab) received the Chancellor’s Excellence Leadership Award 2023. Pravita has been involved in several organizations, including AWIS, AAPS, and HSSA, that promote student advocacy and diversity on the WSU Spokane campus. Ms. Balijepalli is in her final year as a PhD student. Her dissertation research focuses on characterizing an understudied family of extracellular proteins called “CCNs” in prostate cancer, under the guidance of Dr. Kathryn Meier. In February, Pravita presented a talk titled “CCNs as a downstream targets of LPA signaling” at the Pharma R &D conference in Las Vegas, Nevada. She also recently presented her work as a poster at the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) meeting held at Seattle in March 2023. Pravita aspires to be a lifelong advocate for women and underrepresented individuals in STEM.

See the full list of Chancellor’s Excellence Award recipients

Successfully Passed Preliminary Exam:
  • Ayobami Diyaolu, April 3, 2023
  • Meena Shanta, April 25, 2023
Successfully Passed Final Defense:
  • Rakshit Tanna, April 4, 2023
  • Jing Wang, April 5, 2023
  • Deepak Ahire, April 19, 2023