CPPS students and faculty recognized by University

Across Washington State University (WSU) spring is a time to recognize those who go above and beyond, making an impact in their programs, the University, and their communities. Along with the College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (CPPS) internal awards, students, faculty and staff are also recognized by WSU Health Sciences and by the University. It is with great pride the college announces the following WSU President’s Awards for Leadership and WSU Health Sciences Chancellor’s Excellence Awards received by CPPS students and faculty.

The President’s Award for Leadership

Every year, leaders across Washington State University are chosen for the President’s Award for Leadership in honor of their exceptional leadership and service to students, WSU and the community. This year, seven pharmacy students were recognized during a virtual Leadership and Engagement Awards of Distinction (LEAD) award ceremony on April 20, 2021. The college is pleased to announce the following seven CPPS Doctor of Pharmacy student awardees.

Brian Wu, Yakima class of 2022
Dana Rabourne, Yakima class of 2023
Minwoo Park, Yakima class of 2021







Misty Lefler, Spokane class of 2022
Olivia Hiskey, Spokane class of 2023
Shannon Patterson, Spokane class of 2022
Trevor Schultz, Yakima class of 2022



Chancellor’s Excellence Awards

The Chancellor’s Excellence Awards are bestowed annually to students, faculty, staff and community partners who advance leadership and engagement at WSU Health Sciences. Recipients of these awards demonstrate exceptional leadership and service to the university and the community and/or support leadership development and engagement of WSU students.

The chancellor presented the awards during two livestreamed ceremonies with faculty and staff awards presented April 21 while student awards were presented the following day. The college is pleased to announce the following seven CPPS awardees.

Student Leadership Award

The Chancellor’s Leadership Award honors students for their leadership and academic contributions to the campus, commitment to advancing diversity, and passion for innovation and ingenuity in their chosen field.

Stephanie Vien, Doctor of Pharmacy candidate, Spokane class of 2022
Shayne Fontes, Doctor of Pharmacy candidate, Spokane class of 2022
Virginia Gonzalez, Doctor of Pharmacy candidate, Yakima class of 2021

Student, Community Engagement Award

This award highlights students and community partners for their capacity building, reciprocity and innovation in our surrounding communities. The Student Impact and Registered Student Organization (RSO) Impact Awards recognize service-learning, philanthropy or project-based work that creates a significant and demonstrable community advancement. The Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA) plans, organizes, coordinates and executes programs to improve health, the educational and social environment of minorities and underserved communities.

Student Impact AwardRSO Impact Award: SNPhA
Kellyan Nguyen, Doctor of Pharmacy Candidate, Spokane class of 2022
The SNPhA RSO Impact Award was accepted by Spokane SNPhA President Erica Seu, Doctor of Pharmacy Candidate, Spokane class of 2022
Shamema Nasrin, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Molecular Medicine PhD candidate

Student Legacy Award

This award recognizes graduating students (undergraduate, graduate, or professional) whose influence, ideals and activities throughout their college career have had a lasting, positive impact at WSU Health Sciences.


Senthil Natesan, Pharmaceutical Sciences Assistant Professor

Chancellor’s Excellence in Teaching Award

The Office of the Chancellor and Vice President for Health Sciences presents this award to honor a faculty member who exemplifies scholarly teaching and effective mentoring of students as future health care professionals or researchers to impact the health of individuals and communities.