February 2020 Updates



Pharmacotherapy Clinical Associate Professor Kimberly McKeirnan and one co-author published, “Implementing immunizing pharmacy technicians in a federal healthcare facility,” in the Pharmacy Journal for Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute (MDPI). View abstract »

Allen I. White Distinguished Associate Professor Joshua Neumiller and ten co-authors published, “Clinical characteristics of and risk factors for chronic kidney disease among adults and children: an analysis of the CURE-CKD registry,” in the peer-reviewed medical journal, Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) online. View abstract »

Joshua Neumiller and one co-author published, “Liberalisation, deintensification, and simplification in diabetes management: words matter,” in the Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology online journal. Read more »

Joshua Neumiller and one co-author published, “Oral semaglutide,” in Clinical Diabetes, a peer-reviewed journal by the American Diabetes Association, in January 2020. Read article »

J. Roberts and Marcia Fosberg Distinguished Professor in Pharmacotherapy Danial Baker, Pharmacotherapy Clinical Professor Terri Levien, and one co-author published, “Drug evaluation – pretomanid,” in Wolters Kluwer Health’s The Formulary Monograph Service (FMS) in December 2019. Wolters Kluwer Health is a drug and health information publisher, the FMS is a resource used in the formulary decision making process for hospitals and managed care systems on recently released and investigational drugs.

Danial Baker, Pharmacotherapy Drug Information Center Resident Brittany Craft, and one co-author published, “Drug evaluation – fedratinib (Inrebic): updated evaluation,” in the FMS in December 2019.

Danial Baker published, “Drug evaluation – teplizumab: preliminary evaluation,” in the FMS in December 2019.

Terri Levien, Danial Baker, and one co-author published, “Drug evaluation – glucagon injection (Gvoke),” in the FMS in December 2019.

Terri Levien, Danial Baker, and one co-author published, “Drug evaluation – pitolisant (Wakix),” in the FMS in December 2019.

Danial Baker published, “Drug utilization evaluation – semaglutide (Ozempic & Rybelsus),” in the FMS in December 2019.


Joshua Neumiller recorded a highlights webcast on, “The 2020 standards of medical care in diabetes,” for the American Diabetes Association on December 20, 2019. View practice guidelines resources »

Joshua Neumiller presented the webinar, “The role of GLP-1 RAs in the management of type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular risk – putting it all together,” for Postgraduate Healthcare Education on January 16, 2020.


Pharmaceutical Sciences Office Assistant Kami Ryplewski received the January 2020 Crimson Spirit award from Washington State University. The Crimson Spirit Award is a recognition for employees who provided exceptional service and exceeded expectations while representing WSU.  Read more »

Pharmaceutical Sciences Professor Salah-uddin Ahmed was recognized as the 2019 Medical Honoree at the Arthritis Foundation Jingle Bell 5K Run/Walk on December 7, 2019, in Spokane, Washington. He was recognized for his years of research dedicated to improving treatments for various forms of arthritis.

Pharmaceutical Sciences Assistant Professor Shobhan Gaddameedhi received an Outstanding New Environmental Scientist (ONES) Award from the National Institutes of Health.

Pharmaceutical Sciences Associate Professor Bhagwat Prasad received a subaward to University of Washington, under an NIH UH3 cooperative agreement grant in the amount of $345,596 over four years for the project, “Prenatal and early childhood pathways to health (PATHWAYS).”  This is a transfer of an ongoing project.

Pharmaceutical Sciences Professor Kathryn Meier has been awarded a renewal of the ASPET Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship Program in the amount of $27,000 over three years.


Bhagwat Prasad received a $67,000 grant from Bristol-Myers Squibb over one year for the project, “Quantitation of mitochondrial amidoxime reducing complex (mARC) in human liver tissue bank.”  This is a transfer from his previous university, UW.

Shobhan Gaddameedhi received a grant in the amount of $2,133,199 over five years from the National Institutes of Health for the project, “Circadian clock disruption: A risk factor for environmental carcinogenesis.”


Joshua Neumiller is now serving on the editorial board for BMJ Open Diabetes Research & Care, a journal managed in collaboration between BMJ and the American Diabetes Association (ADA).

Pharmacotherapy Academic Fellow Emily Darst discussed USP updates on the WSPA Health Systems Academy Podcast in December 2019. Listen to the podcast »

The 2019 WSU Spokane Research team participated in the Arthritis Foundation Jingle Bell 5K Run/Walk in Spokane, Washington on December 7, 2019.  The team had a total of 29 run/walk participants, 11 volunteers, and 3 financial donors. They raised $855 to support arthritis research and patient services in the Northwest. Overall the event raised over $80,000 for the Arthritis Foundation. View photos »

Pharmacotherapy Clinical Associate Professor Julie Akers joined the interim provost, Bryan Slinker, in Martin Stadium during the Cougars’ victory over Oregon State on November 23. Akers reflected on her ongoing commitment to WSU stating, “To me, teaching is the ultimate way to give back to your profession,” Akers says. “My goal is to develop strong leaders who are passionate about patient care and are active participants in the profession. I focus on the legislative and regulatory process, patient care services, and supporting their development as change agents. I serve on several local, state, and national committees and boards focused on policy and advocacy as well as conduct research related to community pharmacists providing direct patient care services, ensuring access to quality care throughout Washington State.” Read more »



Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D) students

Mahamudul Haque (pharmaceutical sciences, Ahmed lab) was awarded a Medical and Graduate Student Preceptorship from the Rheumatology Research Foundation for a minimum eight-week preceptorship in the amount of $1,000 to the grantee institution and $3,000 to the graduate student for the project, “Regulation of interleukin beta induced TNF alpha stimulated gene-6 (TSG6) expression in human osteoarthritis synovial fibroblasts by guanylate binding protein 5 (GBP5).”

Christopher Szlenk (pharmaceutical sciences, Natesan lab) and two co-authors published, “Engaging scientists in policy discourse,” in Current Protocols in November 2019.

Christopher Szlenk has been selected for the competitive ASPET Washington Fellows program for 2020. The mission of the ASPET Washington Fellows Program is to enable developing and early career scientists interested in science policy to learn about and become more engaged in public policy issues. Fellows will develop an understanding of how public policy decisions made in Washington, D.C. help shape and impact science policy, such as funding for the National Institutes of Health and other science agencies.