The old adage says it takes a village to raise a child, it could also be said it takes a community to train a pharmacist. Every spring the Washington State University (WSU) College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (CPPS) takes time to recognize the students, faculty, staff and the many supporters who help make the success of the college possible.

“Because of the involvement of all these volunteers and donors, our students are gaining the knowledge, leadership skills and clinical skills that will have a tremendous impact on the future of health care,” said Linda Garrelts MacLean, vice dean of the college.

The annual Celebrating Generosity and Tribute to Excellence events allow the college to say “thank you” to its alumni and donors, and present the college’s annual awards. Events sponsored by STCU were held in Yakima on April 5Spokane on April 12 and Seattle on May 10.

Student Awards
The Student of the Year awards are selected by the faculty and recognize students who have shown a commitment to academic performance, leadership, scholarship, service and professionalism. Student of the Year awards were presented for the first through third Doctor of Pharmacy professional years (PY1-3) and the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences.

2018-19 Student of the Year recipients:

  • PY1: Brian Wu (Yakima) and Siavosh Naji-Talakar (Spokane)
  • PY2: Minwoo Park (Yakima) and Kayla Treharne (Spokane
  • PY3: Leljla Mlivic (Yakima) and Johanna Pantig (Spokane)
  • Pharmaceutical Sciences: Panshak Dakup

The Doctor of Pharmacy PY4 awards were presented at the Senior Awards Luncheon as part of the commencement proceedings.

While the Student of the Year Award recipients are selected by faculty, this year the pharmacy students created a new, peer-nominated, Student Leadership Award to recognize the classmates who they believe inspire leadership in others, maintain integrity in their actions and have made a lasting impact on their community.

2019 Student Leadership Award recipients:

  • Brandy Seignemartin (Spokane)
  • Frank Nenninger (Yakima)

Faculty and Staff Awards
Every year students nominate professors that they felt went above and beyond, both in and outside of the classroom. The Teacher of the Year award recognizes these outstanding teachers that demonstrate excellence, innovation and effectiveness in teaching; and who contribute to fulfilling the college’s student-oriented mission.

2018-19 Teacher of the Year recipients:

  • PY1: Damianne Brand-Eubanks (Yakima) and Jeannie Padowski (Spokane)
  • PY2: Christina Buchman (Yakima) and Jean-Baptiste Roullet (Spokane)
  • PY3: Anne Kim (Yakima) and Kyle Frazier (Spokane)
  • PY4: Megan Giruzzi (Yakima) and Megan Willson, Jeff Clark and Terri Levien (Spokane)
  • Pharmaceutical sciences graduate program: Shobhan Gaddameedhi

Students nominating Teachers of the Year commented extensively on their instructor’s dedication, kindness and availability, both inside and outside the classroom.

“Dr. Kim has constantly gone above and beyond to make sure that she can provide the best education for us,” said one student in the nomination for the Yakima PY3 Teacher of the Year, Anne Kim.

The Staff Excellence Award recognizes staff who exhibit exceptional work, foster an atmosphere of trust and respect, and serve as effective ambassadors for the college. Faculty, staff, and students had the opportunity to submit nominations, and a faculty committee reviewed the applications and determined the winners.

2018 Staff Excellence Award recipients:

  • Barb King, student services office assistant
  • Abby Parsons, pharmacotherapy secretary supervisor

Community Support
The Celebrating Generosity event also allows CPPS to highlight and thank donors and volunteers who make a difference to the college.

“Without the investment of our donors and supporters, the college would not be able to offer a wide-range of educational-opportunities for our students, including travel to professional conferences, the career seminar series, the alumni-student mentor program, and—of course—student scholarships,” said MacLean.

In recognition of such support, the first “Friend of Pharmacy” award was presented during the Yakima event. Brock Eubanks, Ph.D. and spouse of Yakima Pharmacotherapy Professor Damianne Brand-Eubanks, was honored for his coaching and mentorship of the NCPA Business Plan Competition Teams, including the team that won the National Business Plan Competition.

While alumni were gathered for the events, the college took the opportunity to present past mentor, preceptor and alumni of the year awards to honorees who were unable to attend the 2018 Crimson Gala last September.

  • 2017 Mentor of the Year: Ron Jennings, class of 1984
  • 2014 Preceptor of the Year: Patrick O’Connor, class of 1995
  • 2007 Alumnus of the Year: Bert Porter, class of 1950
  • 2011 Alumnus of the Year: Greg Gibbons, class of 1982

The 2018 Alumnus, Preceptor and Mentor of the Year awards will be presented on October 18 during the 2019 Crimson Gala.

Questions about contributing to the college through mentorship, preceptorship or philanthropic opportunities can be directed to Kelly Sylvester, director of development and alumni relations, at or 509-368-6675.