Linda Garrelts MacLean, chair of the Department of Pharmacotherapy, received the annual WSU Spokane Students’ Choice Award for Excellence in Teaching at commencement ceremonies on May 8, 2009.

Another faculty member in the College, Jae Kennedy, associate professor in the Department of Health Policy and Administration, was recognized by his peers with the annual WSU Spokane Faculty Excellence Award in recognition of his excellence in teaching, research, and community service.

MacLean joined the College faculty full-time in 2006 after a career as a pharmacy business owner who received national attention for her contributions to the profession. She is a 1978 alumnus of the College and served as a preceptor to WSU pharmacy students for many years while she owned Jones Pharmacy in Spokane. She is chair of the Department of Pharmacotherapy.

Kennedy is a National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR) Distinguished Research Fellow and has been involved in aging and disability research since 1989. He is recognized as a leading researcher in the area of access to health and long-term services for Americans with disabilities. Just recently, he received a three-year, $600K grant to assess the impact of Medicare-D on SSDI Beneficiaries.

In addition to his research and teaching, Kennedy provides editorial service for three of the top journals in health management and policy and serves as a consultant to local and national service providers and advocacy groups.