Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University
Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences News

Business Picks Up for Clinical Trials Research Team

The Clinical Trials Research Team in the Department of Pharmacotherapy successfully completed its first-ever clinical trial this past summer after eight years of managing more than 140 patients.

A second clinical trial with 36 patients has been underway for three years and the team is now recruiting patients for two additional trials it is starting in Spokane.

The team’s demonstrated proficiency in recruiting and caring for patients as well as following trial procedures and documenting findings has led to them being offered other trials, including their two new ones, which are their third and fourth trials.

“Our specialty is long-term cardiovascular outcome trials,” said Debbie … » More …

Students Place in Business Competition

Continuing what has become an annual tradition, a team of Washington State University pharmacy students has placed in the top 10 in a business plan competition held by the National Community Pharmacists Association Foundation.

WSU won first place in the competition in 2006 and took second place in 2007 and 2004, which was the first year it was held. Last year, WSU placed in the top 5. “We’re developing this culture where one team mentors the next one,” said Linda Garrelts MacLean, a faculty advisor for the teams. The three students on the 2009 team were helped by a student from the 2008 team, she … » More …

Interim Dean Selected for 2009-10

Dr. Bill Campbell, Dean and Professor Emeritus of the University of North Carolina and a past president of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, has accepted the position of Interim Dean of the WSU College of Pharmacy, effective Sept. 1, 2009.

A search is underway for a new dean to replace James P. Kehrer, who is leaving in August to become dean of pharmacy at the University of Alberta in Edmonton.

Campbell retired to Washington state after serving 11 years as dean of the School of Pharmacy at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Prior to Chapel Hill, he served four years … » More …

Another WSU Student to Lead NCPA Council

Photo of Andrew HelmWSU pharmacy student Andrew Helm is the new president-elect of the National Community Pharmacists Association’s students’ council and will serve as president in 2010-11.

It will be the second time in three years a WSU student has served as president of the 16-member national student leadership council. WSU pharmacy student Jason Doss, who graduated in May, just finished his term as president for 2008-09.

Involvement by WSU students has been supported and encouraged by College alumni who also have been active at the national level of NCPA, including 1978 graduates Holly Whitcomb Henry … » More …

Pharmacy Students Get National Awards for Volunteerism

WSU students Jamie L. Robinson and Lindy Wood were both recognized with a Pharmacy Times/Wal-Mart RESPy Award during the 2008-09 academic year for their volunteer work.

The RESPy Award for Respect, Excellence and Service in Pharmacy includes a $1,000 tuition scholarship, a handcrafted piece of commemorative art and a featured profile in Pharmacy Times magazine . The award is given out 10 times a year.

Robinson was profiled in the March 2009 issue of the magazine, and Lindy Wood was in the February issue.

Robinson, class of 2010, grew up with parents who believed in helping others and she started volunteering at the age of … » More …

Higgins Named 2009 Outstanding Alumnus

Photo of bob higginsRobert W. Higgins has received the 2009 Outstanding Alumnus Award from the College of Pharmacy at Washington State University.

Higgins is a 1957 WSU pharmacy graduate and son of 1926 pharmacy graduate Nels Higgins, who owned Higgins Drug Store in Pullman until 1955. During his 23-year Navy career, Higgins rose to the rank of admiral and retired in 1993 as deputy surgeon general of the U.S. Navy.

While serving as a physician in the Vietnam War, he became interested in world health care, and after retirement, he served a term as president of … » More …

WSU Takes APhA Regional Award for Operation Diabetes

WSU pharmacy students won the Northwest Region Operation Diabetes award for the third consecutive year in student competition at the American Pharmacists Association annual meeting in San Antonio in April 2009.

A WSU pharmacy student – Elizabeth Moe from the class of 2011 – also placed in the top 10 national patient counseling competition. It was the second consecutive year a WSU student placed in the top 10.

The Operation Diabetes team submitted a 10-page report detailing their campaign, in which 162 student pharmacists screened and/or educated 818 people, not including the countless viewers of a diabetes outreach the students did on a Spokane television … » More …

Brent Albertson Named Preceptor of the Year

Brent A. Albertson, the manager of advanced pharmacy practice at Providence Sacred Heart Medical Center & Children’s Hospital in Spokane, was named the 2009 Roche Preceptor of the Year by the College of Pharmacy in recognition of his outstanding work with WSU pharmacy students during their final year of the Doctor of Pharmacy degree program.

Albertson has been affiliated with the College since 2003, when he joined the faculty while maintaining a part-time practice in hospital pharmacy. In 2007, he became a full-time employee of the medical center and moved adjunct faculty status in the College, a position he still holds. Albertson received his Pharm.D. … » More …

MacLean, Kennedy Get WSU Spokane Excellence Awards

Linda Garrelts MacLean, chair of the Department of Pharmacotherapy, received the annual WSU Spokane Students’ Choice Award for Excellence in Teaching at commencement ceremonies on May 8, 2009.

Another faculty member in the College, Jae Kennedy, associate professor in the Department of Health Policy and Administration, was recognized by his peers with the annual WSU Spokane Faculty Excellence Award in recognition of his excellence in teaching, research, and community service.

MacLean joined the College faculty full-time in 2006 after a career as a pharmacy business owner who received national attention for her contributions to the profession. She is a 1978 alumnus of the College and … » More …

Quock, Garrison Named Teachers of the Year

College of Pharmacy faculty members Raymond M. Quock and Mark Garrison were selected by pharmacy students as the 2008-09 Teachers of the Year.

Quock, who is chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, lectures in neuropharmacology, psychopharmacology and drug abuse to second-year pharmacy students. He has been at the College since January 1999 and has a long list of teaching awards from his faculty career at other institutions, including the University of Illinois College of Medicine where he received the Golden Apple teaching award seven of the nine years he was there. Quock has won the Teacher of the Year award from WSU students two … » More …