Celebrating college excellence

Across Washington State University (WSU) spring is a time to recognize those who go above and beyond, making an impact in their programs, the university, and their communities. Along with the College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (CPPS) internal awards, students, faculty and staff are also recognized by WSU Health Sciences and by the university. It is with great pride the college announces the following CPPS Student Awards, WSU President’s Awards for Leadership and WSU Health Sciences Chancellor’s Excellence Awards received by CPPS students and faculty.

CPPS Student Awards

CPPS Student Awards are selected by the faculty and recognize students who have shown a commitment to academic performance, leadership, scholarship, service and professionalism. This year’s recipients received their awards during our recent Celebrating Excellence and Generosity events in Yakima and Spokane. Graduating doctor of pharmacy students received their awards separately during commencement celebrations.

Rising Star Award is given to a first-year student pharmacist in good academic and professional standing. This individual is making strides in leading, advancing, promoting and protecting human health.

Excellence in Patient Care and Outreach. To be nominated for this award, a student must demonstrate good academic and professional standing as well as exemplify outstanding patient care.

Excellence in Leadership. To be nominated for this award, a student must demonstrate good academic and professional standing as well as outstanding achievement in scholarship.

The President’s Award for Leadership

Every year, leaders across Washington State University are chosen for the President’s Award for Leadership in honor of their exceptional leadership and service to students, WSU and the community. This year, three pharmacy students and one pharmacy student organization were recognized during a ceremony on the WSU Pullman campus in April.


APhA-ASP Spokane, WSU Spokane was also selected for the Registered Student Organization of the Year (accepted by Kiersten Stintzi).

Chancellor’s Excellence Awards

The Chancellor’s Excellence Awards are bestowed annually to students, faculty, staff and community partners who advance leadership and engagement at WSU Health Sciences. Recipients of these awards demonstrate exceptional leadership and service to the university and the community and/or support leadership development and engagement of WSU students.

The chancellor presented the awards during an in-person ceremony in April. The college is pleased to announce the following eight CPPS awardees.

Chancellor’s Excellence Award in Service

Pharmaceutical Sciences Associate Professor and Director of Industry Engagement Bhagwat Prasad

Chancellor’s Excellence Award in Research and Scholarship

Pharmaceutical Sciences Professor Mary Paine

Chancellor’s Excellence Award, Group/Department

Pharmacy Business Services Office

Chancellor’s Excellence Award, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

The Diversity and Inclusion Award recognizes a staff member who demonstrates leadership and innovation in enhancing diversity and increasing a climate of inclusion in ways that will have an impact on health or healthcare, and effective mentoring of students, staff and/or faculty.

Chancellor’s Excellence Award in Leadership

The Chancellor’s Leadership Award honors students for leadership and academic contributions to the campus, commitment to advancing diversity, and passion for innovation and ingenuity in their chosen field.

Todd Riddle, Yakima class of 2023
Olivia Hiskey, Spokane class of 2023
Frank Liu, class of 2023

Chancellor’s Legacy Award

This award recognizes graduating students whose influence, ideals and activities throughout their college career have had a lasting, positive impact at WSU Health Sciences.

Kellyan Nguyen, Spokane class of 2022


Vice President’s Student Leadership and Community Engagement Scholarship