Pharmacy Students Receive National Recognition

Several pharmacy students earned national recognition in spring semester 2007:

Cris Duvall, class of 2007, was selected in January by the APhA’s Student Pharmacist magazine as a One to One Counseling Recognition Program Honoree. She was chosen because of her superior communication skills that resulted in improved outcomes for patients.

Duvall received airfare to Atlanta for the 2007 APhA Annual Meeting in March, plus three nights of hotel accommodations and complimentary registration for the meeting. This recognition program is endowed by a grant from Johnson & Johnson–Merck Consumer Pharmaceuticals.

Majid Tanas, class of 2007, was one of 12 students nationally to receive a 2006-2007 ASHP Student Leadership Award. The awards were given to students with an interest in health-system pharmacy and who have demonstrated leadership. They include $2,500 in cash, a drug information library and recognition throughout the year in various ASHP publications.

Jason Doss, class of 2009, selected as the Regional NCPA Student, which means he will serve for two years in the student leadership of the NCPA. The first year, he will serve on the Student Regional Council as the liaison between NCPA and student chapters of a particular region, and the second year he will be on the Student Leadership Council, which is involved in policy discussions. Doss will receive paid trips to the NCPA annual and legislative conferences for 2007 and 2008 (four conferences total). He also will serve on the National Steering Committee for NCPA in 2008.

Daniela Beilic, class of 2009, selected as the NCPA summer intern. The NCPA selections one summer intern each year. Daniela will spend 10 weeks in the NCPA headquarters in Alexandria, Va. She will be required to submit a report after five weeks and another at the end of the internship.