Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University


Since Washington State University was founded in 1891, scholarship in pharmacy has been a part of the university’s tradition of excellence.

Pharmacy Alumni of the Year

The “Outstanding Alumni” award was established in 1991 by the College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences (CPPS) Dean’s Advisory Council as recognition of a pharmacy alum whose contributions to community or society at large or the health care profession, or whose personal achievement has brought distinction to Washington State University CPPS.

Past award recipients

2018: Manpreet Chahal ’10
2017: James Robbers ’57 and ’61
2016: Nick Bruck ’04
2015: Gerald A. Danquist ’65
2014: Merrie Kay Alzola ’93
2013: Wayne Clemens ’70
2012: Nancy Gerstad ‘74
2011: Greg Gibbons ’82
2010: Fred (Fritz) H. McGinnis ’71
2009: Robert W. Higgins ’57
2008: Gerald Briggs ’68
2007: Marshall P. Roberts ’57, and Bert Porter ’50

2002: Linda Garrelts MacLean ’78
2001: Marvin Chamberlain ’75
2000: John Swenson ’68
1999: Holly Whitcomb Henry ’78
1998: John Oftebro ’65
1997: Raymond Olson ’57
1996: Rick Doane ’71
1995: William Gaskins ’69
1994: Ron Doane ’50
1993: Jim ’39 and Trudy ’38 Reavis
1992: Richard Fowler ’50
1991: R. Keith Campbell ’64

12 months of alumni spotlights

As a part of our 125th Anniversary in 2016 we featured a monthly profile of the trailblazers in pharmacy and the leaders who have made a difference at the WSU CPPS.

January: Jessie Senora Sims Walker
February: Leon and Merrie Kay Alzola
March: The Doane Family
April: Manpreet Chahal
May: Geraldine J. Kerr
June: The class of 1965
July: Yakima
August: Leadership starts local
September: Generations in Pharmacy
October: Leadership in the Profession – Diabetes education
December: ESSB 5557 and beyond: the future of the pharmacy profession